Procrastination to the max


Taking relationship status to the extreme…
June 12, 2010, 12:47 pm
Filed under: Chit Chat, Pet hates, Rant, Relationships

I was recently added by a couple on facebook.  They didn’t both add me with their individual accounts; no they added me with their joint facebook account, which I thought was both creepy and impractical.

I hate to go all Carrie Bradshaw on you, but is a joint facebook account the new joint chequeing account?  Is it the step before sharing a house together?  Most importantly, why on earth would you bother with such a move?  There are many issues I have with this…I’m gonna say phenomenon because I can’t think of any other word, despite my only having seen one such case.

  • People find it difficult to change their relationship status on facebook following a break-up; in this case, would they have to reach some sort of custodial agreement? “I get the account on Mondays, Wednesdays and every seconds Saturday but can only upload photos on Sundays…”
  • I only met one half of the couple, so now I am not only friends with a couple, but I’m friends with a couple that I technically haven’t met before…
  • Clearly, neither of them will ever have facebook freedom of speech, won’t be able to add anyone the other doesn’t like/approve of/feels threatened by
  • I’m slightly offended by it, and it brings to memory the episode of SATC when the couples are at war with the singles and Carrie comes out with that GOLDEN line, where she equates that war with “the war in Northern Ireland”, because “we’re really both on the same side.”

This is something I can only hope will not catch on, or you will be subjected to more SATC style rants in the future, and possibly some sort of petition that joint facebook accounts be given their own separate social networking site…

Except these two…because they’re great…and an optical illusion…


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This post is SO Carrie Bradshaw. Please don’t remind me of that Northern Ireland line, it makes me want to chuck the box set out the window.

But that is very strange and frankly very silly.

Comment by Girl Without a Plan




Leave a comment